Logo

Dear Dr. SEXY, I have a config issue

Objective: Help.
Connection problems? Weird config? Crappy PC? Ask Dr. SEXY'S!

Dear Dr. SEXY, I have a config issue

Postby ParisApache » 07 Aug 2014 01:17

So.. I installed windowz 8.1, which this whole metro UI sux big donkey genitals btw. I changed the energy options in windows to "performance", i downloaded a new urt 4.11 version but still is a bit crappy to play on my otherwise nice hardware: i7, 8gb ram, some kick-ass geforce gtx.

so i have the following values:

cl_maxpackets 40 // as well as 25Kb/s max datarate and duplicate packets double
rate 25000
com_hunkmegs 256
com_maxfps 125
r_texturemode "GL_NEAREST"

Tell me Doctor, am I going to make it!? really annoying to have these breaks and lack of smoothness ingame :oops:
.:RFF:.fkewl
ParisApache
Player
Player
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 04 Oct 2012 00:28
Location: Portugal

Re: Dear Dr. SEXY, I have a config issue

Postby FukushuKumquat » 07 Aug 2014 16:16

Make sure the refresh rate of your monitor and the game are in sync.

Another thing that seems to affect game play is when other programs use Internet bandwidth. When my kids are checking out YouTube on their tablets it really makes me lag.

Make sure nothing is running in the background.
User avatar
FukushuKumquat
Server Admin
Server Admin
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 07 Apr 2012 20:58

Re: Dear Dr. SEXY, I have a config issue

Postby ParisApache » 07 Aug 2014 22:39

you mean setting 60 fps to match the 60Hz refresh rate of my led monitor? :oops:

the alternative that i have is doing 800*600@75Hz but i would much rather do 1920*1080.

in quake live i noticed that it runs pretty well and with 125 fps, so it really annoys me that UrT is messed up!
.:RFF:.fkewl
ParisApache
Player
Player
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 04 Oct 2012 00:28
Location: Portugal

Re: Dear Dr. SEXY, I have a config issue

Postby ParisApache » 08 Aug 2014 01:02

update:

i set
com_blood 0
com_hunkmegs 1024 -- this one seems to have improved the stability
com_maxfps 120 -- down from 125, might help somehow :lol:

anyway seems more stable although not as smooth as quake live. btw, i've noticed quake live, by default, uses only 128 com_hunkmegs... :o
.:RFF:.fkewl
ParisApache
Player
Player
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 04 Oct 2012 00:28
Location: Portugal


Return to Medic on the way, hang in there.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Theme created by StylerBB.net